Home
reviews image

Gram's Journey Reviews

Rave Reviews

Added 11/20/2017 by Kimberly S

Atticus and I, read the book from his favorite author yet again last night! We enjoy your stories so much! Hope to see many more come!


Added 11/13/2017 by Serena J

My kids have fallen in love with Gram and his sparky little friend Stubbs. I overhear them reciting lines from the book which brings a smile. Thanks for touching my family in a positive way.


Added 10/03/2017 by Kimberly C

Gram's Journey is such a sweet book. My little ones loved Gram, and laughed nonstop at Stubbs. In fact, one of the grand kids now has a new nickname. The others call him Stubbs when he's being difficult. Thank you for sharing a true children's story.


Added 09/27/2017 by Marie Y

Met the author and artist at a recent festival, bought a book, and frankly forgot about it until a recent grandchildren visit. Read the entire story cover to cover and the kids clung to every word. Thanks for providing an old fashioned way of spending family time together.


Added 08/22/2017 by Tonya G

We've read your book dozens of times, and it continues to entertain. Thanks for sharing your imagination with my family.


Added 08/14/2017 by Allie J

This book has been such a joy for our family. My son now says he wants a puppy just like Gram.


Added 06/30/2017 by Janice w

Met the author and purchased an autographed copy for daughter at a recent book festival. Took it home and thumbed through the pages, not really expecting it to reach out the way it did. Sat down on the couch alone and read it cover to cover. Something about the story felt familiar, and the illustrations brought it to life. Read it to my daughter at bedtime, and it's become her favorite. I'm not sure how you did it, but I feel like I took every step on Gram's Journey, and loved it!


Added 06/30/2017 by Marie c

Spoiler Alert...Love Gram, love the characters, especially Stubbs, love the encounter with Kaylyn. Great story, my kids have enjoyed it over and over!


Added 06/20/2017 by Susan F

Reading Gram's Journey to my grandchildren allowed an opportunity to relive pleasant experiences from my youth. Our family farm in Kentucky was bordered by Hinkston Creek, so you can imagine my surprise learning Gram stops for a drink in the same creek I played in as a child. It is a joy sharing this story, and I believe it to be richly illustrated as any children's book I've seen.


Added 05/25/2017 by Gwen W

I met Mr. Shumate at a recent event and understand Gram is really a family member. I love this book cover to cover.


Added 05/12/2017 by Melissa C

I like holding a physical book and want my kids to as well. Thank you for wanting the same .


Added 03/05/2017 by Tiffany J

Met Mr. Shumate at a festival and asked him to sign a book I purchased last year. He autographed it right there on the hood of my Jeep!


Added 02/11/2017 by Kathy D

Love the pictures!


Added 01/25/2017 by Pearl K

Purchased a copy for my grandson's birthday and you were kind enough to personalize it. He was so excited to see his name and loved the book. Thank you for taking time to show you care.


Added 01/17/2017 by Miranda H

Bought your book and write to compliment your speedy shipping. Thanks for making my purchase so pleasant.


Added 01/11/2017 by Anna P

Bought a Claw ornament for my son. He loved it.


Added 01/08/2017 by Susan B

Grew up in Kentucky and love reading about it to my grandchildren.


Added 01/08/2017 by Millie J

I grew up in Kentucky and love sharing part of my heritage with grandchildren through this book. Thanks for bringing back fond memories.


Added 01/04/2017 by Virginia D

Beautiful book! The pictures compliment the story perfectly.


Added 01/01/2017 by Candice S

My kids stayed glued to every word.


Added 12/21/2016 by Anne H

This is a really good book. Thanks for putting fun back into reading to my grand kids. PS: I love the illustrations too.


Added 12/18/2016 by Cynthia B

As a retired elementary school teacher I've read my share of books, and this is a really good one!


Added 12/16/2016 by Kimberly C

Not sure why it's called a children's book. This grown adult loved it!


Added 12/12/2016 by Marcy D

Can't wait for a follow up!


Added 12/12/2016 by Rebecca R

Our kids absolutely love this book.


Added 12/03/2016 by Anna C

I bought this book to read to the grand kids and have quickly learned it's a joy to share. Thanks for a cheerful story.


Added 11/27/2016 by Megan J

What a neat book! Love the Kentucky connection and the photos are beautifully created.


Added 11/06/2016 by Sandy H

Once a Kentuckian, always a Kentuckian! Even though my family moved away many years ago, I'm enjoying the opportunity to share this Kentucky treasure with the grand kids. Thank you for rekindling lots of fond memories.


Added 11/04/2016 by Crosby T

Great book, love the pictures.


Added 10/27/2016 by Dolly W

Bought your book at a KY State Park gift shop and love it.


Added 10/10/2016 by Donna Z

Love the pictures and the story. Gram has become a hit at our house.


Added 10/02/2016 by Rhonda T

My nieces were thrilled to receive a copy signed by Mr. Shumate. Thanks for making it a special experience.


Added 09/19/2016 by Sammi J

Enjoyed meeting you at Artwalk in Paris, KY and pleased to purchase a copy personalized by both the author and artist.


Added 09/16/2016 by Tammi J

Recently bought your book at a craft fair and my kids love it. Thanks for bringing a piece of Kentucky into our home.


Added 09/14/2016 by Lora D

Love this book


Added 08/15/2016 by Mary S

This book is tells a wonderful story and I love the pictures.


Added 08/12/2016 by George T

I bought this book as a surprise gift for my grandaughter from Guatemala. She will love the personification message you left inside. Thank you!


Added 08/04/2016 by Marsha B

I simply love the colorful illustrations contained in this beautiful book.


Added 07/17/2016 by Michelle Q

I notice the pages of your book are thicker than many others and assume it is more durable which is a great asset when children handle it. Good thinking.


Added 07/15/2016 by Mildred J

You have a beautiful book. My grandchildren are crazy about it and just love the pictures.


Added 07/01/2016 by Debra J

I love this book. It's colorful and just plain fun!!!


Added 06/28/2016 by Ashley S

Hi there! The boys and I really enjoyed "Blackberry Tails". My little critics had this to say, "So cool" and "I love it". Thanks, and we look forward to further reads.


Added 06/22/2016 by Taylor G

My son is nine and reading your book all by himself.


Added 06/22/2016 by Justine R

It today's world filled with electronic devices, I'm grateful to you for bringing a paper and ink form of entertainment into our home.


Added 06/21/2016 by Carol T

Great read, the kids love it and so do I!


Added 06/17/2016 by Sasha C

Your book is a welcome addition to our collection.


Added 06/17/2016 by Herman B

All of Kentucky should be proud of this book.


Added 06/16/2016 by Barbara J

I was so touched by the colorful pictures in your book that I called the phone number from the website and a nice lady named Kim shared some of the personal talents of the illustrator. Hard to believe she used chalk to create such beautiful work. I'm impressed!


Added 06/16/2016 by Kate B

Such a cute story. I wish more books were like this one.


Added 06/16/2016 by Charlotte C

I purchased a copy of your book to share with three young grandchildren. We've read it several times and they keep asking me to read it again. Thanks for providing such an entertaining pastime.


Additional reviews archived.

Copyright © 2017 Blackberry Tails.